Dr. Edna Tan (TEHE) recipient of the 2022 AERA Division K Award

Posted on March 29, 2022

Edna Tan Headshot

Congratulations to the recipients of the 2022 American Educational Research Association (AERA) Division K Awards including our very own Dr. Edna Tan. 

Innovations in Research on Equity and Social Justice in Teacher Education: Dr. Angela Calabrese Barton, University of Michigan, and Dr. Edna Tan, UNC Greensboro 

The award recognizes Dr. Calabrese Barton and Dr. Tan for their work to reframe research on STEM teaching and teacher education and its implications for practice in both classrooms and communities. Their rightful presence framework is a powerful tool for guiding justice-oriented studies of teaching and learning. The research-practice partnerships that Drs. Calabrese Barton and Tan forge with communities serve as a model for equity-focused, engaged scholarship in teaching and teacher education.

Committee: Joseph Nelson (chair), Roderick Carey, Ruchi Rangnath, Kevin Roxas (recused)